Knowledge is Power.

Course Registration Bulletin

Alabama

Alabama 20-Hour Prelicensing Course for Title Agents – Now ONLINE

Effective August 2020, the Southeast Land Title Association [SLTA], a multi-state Industry Trade Association became the Course Provider [#23300490] of the Alabama 20-Hour Prelicensing Course for Title Agents. The SLTA and The Koogler Group have been partners on the Course since 2014. As such, The Koogler Group will continue to REGISTER participants for the Course and Karen Koogler, CEO of The Koogler Group – and author of the Alabama Study Manual for Title Insurance will continue to INSTRUCT the Course, just as she has since 2014.

New Virtual Classroom Program Format

In response to COVID, we have created a new Virtual Classroom [VC] Program format. The VC Program is a live-stream, instructor-supported broadcast.

October In-Person Inverness/Birmingham Session – Seating Limited

Due to COVID and social distancing, the most we can hold in the October class is 9 people. We ask that, if you want an in-person session, to REGISTER EARLY. If the first in-person Session fills up, Karen will offer a second session earlier in the same week. Between the two, that still limits us to a total of 18 students. Private, on-site sessions are a third option, for companies who can provide adequate social distancing. Based on instructor availability. Minimum attendance requirements apply. To schedule a private, on-site session of the course, please contact KarenKoogler@KooglerGroup.com.

Alabama Insurance Regulation 482-1-148-.03 – Prelicensing Course

(1) An individual subject to the examination requirement set forth in Rule 482-1-148-.06 must complete a prelicensing course in order to take the title insurance agent examination.

(2) The prelicensing course must have been completed within twelve (12) months before the date of the examination.

(3) An individual is required to present a certificate of completion of the prelicensing course, together with photographic identification, as a condition for taking the title insurance agent examination.

Author: Commissioner of Insurance
Statutory Authority: Ala. Code §§ 27-25-4, et seq. (2012) & 27-25-8 (2001)
History: New October 18, 2012, effective January 1, 2013

482-1-148-.09 Continuing Education

(1)(a) Individual licensees shall satisfactorily complete such courses or programs of instruction as may be approved in accordance with this chapter in the minimum number of 24 classroom hours, 3 hours of which shall be on the topic of ethics, in order to be eligible to renew a title insurance agent license, except as otherwise indicated in this rule.

(b) Licensees Born in Even-numbered Years, Renewal in 2014. Along with the renewal of license due to be completed in accordance with paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-148-.08 in the year 2014, every individual licensee born in an even-numbered year shall satisfactorily complete such courses or programs of instruction as may be approved in accordance with this chapter in the minimum number of 12 classroom hours, 2 hours of which shall be on the topic of ethics. This represents a temporary, transitional reduction in the hours as authorized in Section 27-25-4.8(d) and is applicable only for the first renewals under the new law.

(c) Licensees Born in Odd-numbered Years, Renewal in 2015 and thereafter. Along with the renewal of license due to be completed in accordance with paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-148-.08 in the year 2015 and in every other year thereafter, every individual licensee born in an odd-numbered year shall satisfactorily complete such courses or programs of instruction as may be approved in accordance with this chapter in the minimum number of 24 classroom hours, 3 hours of which shall be on the topic of ethics.

(d) Licensees Born in Even-numbered Years, Renewal in 2016 and thereafter. Along with the renewal of license due to be completed in accordance with paragraph (2) of Rule 482-1-148-.08 in the year 2016 and in every other year thereafter, every individual licensee born in an even-numbered year shall satisfactorily complete such courses or programs of instruction as may be approved in accordance with this chapter in the minimum number of 24 classroom hours, 3 hours of which shall be on the topic of ethics.

Florida

Florida 40-Hour Prelicensing Course Venue – In-Person Classes

Unless otherwise noted on the Course Calendar, all public sessions of the Florida 40-Hour Prelicensing Course are held at the Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Northwest/Oldsmar. The hotel provides a discounted sleeping room rate which is available to anyone attending a Koogler Group course. Simply call the hotel, at 813-818-7202 and tell them you are with The Koogler Group to receive the discounted rate. An email link to the hotel will be provided via “Course Confirmation” once you register to attend a course.

40-Hour Title Agent Prelicensing Course – “Traditional” and “Virtual” Options

Florida Statute 626.8417(3)(a) requires that the 40-Hour Course be a CLASSROOM Course. During the COVID-19 crisis, The Koogler Group requested FLDFS approval for a textbook-based self-study program which could be rolled out quickly. However, the Department’s authority is restricted by Statute, so our first request was denied, as on-demand self-study programs do not meet the definition of CLASSROOM. Fortunately, on March 31, 2020, the Department approved our proposal for an Instructor-Led, Interactive-Learning VIRTUAL CLASSROOM Program.

After an intensive development process which began April 1, 2020 – which required (1) restructuring the Course Content into twenty (20) separate 2-hour Sessions to be delivered over a 90-day period similar to night-school classes; (2) revamping our Secured Online Training Portal to accommodate an Instructor-Led Interactive-Learning environment, where students take quizzes and submit questions during each 2-hour Session; and (3) put technology-based administrative procedures in place for verifying student ID and active-participation throughout each Session – we successfully rolled out the first Virtual Classroom Program on June 22, 2020. Our next 2020 Virtual Classroom Program BEGINS September 14th and ENDS November 23rd.

Beginning 2021, we anticipate offering two VIRTUAL [at-a-distance] CLASSROOM offerings per year in addition to four to six TRADITIONAL [in-person] CLASSROOM offerings. As the industry continues to grow, we will add more Offerings. In addition, based on Instructor availability, we will continue to offer Private Onsite Sessions for companies who want to host a Traditional [In-Person] Classroom session in their city. [Minimum attendance requirements apply. Email KarenKoogler@KooglerGroup.com for information.]

Licensing Qualification and State Exam Preparation

There are two separate elements for obtaining a title agent license – (1) qualifying for licensure; and (2) passing the state exam. Both are discussed below…

To Qualify for Licensure, you must either:

  1. Complete the 40-Hour course, OR
  2. Have sufficient working experience (at least 1 year of responsible title duties working full time or substantially full time for a title company or title agency during the 4 years preceding date of application). In this case, you must provide a Qualification and Verification of Experience Form, signed by your employer (form available on myfloridacfo.com). This is not about “time served” – it is whether you possess a level of professional qualifications as set forth on the Form.

Who May Attend The 40-Hour Course

Anyone wishing to take the Florida 40-Hour Prelicensing Course is welcome to do so, including those who qualify to sit for the state exam based on experience. Experienced agents may wish to purchase the Florida Study Manual for Title Insurance [on which the State Exam is based] and the Florida Title Insurance Exam Prep [Optional Exam Prep Component] for self-study purposes. You are encouraged to choose the study method best suited to your specific needs.

Layered Learning – Course, Textbook, and Online Exam Prep

As noted above, there are two separate elements for obtaining a title agent license – (1) qualifying for licensure; and (2) passing the state exam. As such, we have developed a 3-level “Layered Learning” approach that, if adhered to, will deliver the instruction required to qualify for licensure and, separately, prepare students for the state exam.

  1. Learning Layer #1 – Read the Textbook
    The Florida Study Manual for Title Insurance [required reading] is the textbook upon which State Exam questions are based and covers all topics listed on the Exam Content Outline. We strongly recommend that those taking the 40-Hour Course read the Florida Study Manual in advance. Those enrolled in the Virtual [at-a-distance] Classroom Program will be assigned specific chapters to read, for each of the twenty (20) Course Sessions, by the Course Instructor.
  2. Learning Layer #2 – Complete the 40-Hour Course
    The 40-Hour Course is a “Teaching-Learning” course of instruction that places the content of the Florida Study Manual for Title Insurance into context, by providing real-world examples of the various topics covered throughout the Course. The purpose of the Course is to ensure that those entering the industry have a basic understanding of all topics listed on the Exam Content Outline. The 40-Hour Course is NOT an Exam-Prep Course.
  3. Learning Layer #3 – Prepare for the State Exam
    The Florida Title Insurance Exam Prep is an optional component, best suited for those who prefer taking simulated exams when studying for the State Exam. Please note that this product may contain questions similar to the State Exam but does not include State Exam questions. The purpose of this product is to reinforce the information contained in the Florida Study Manual for Title Insurance and taught in the 40-Hour Course.

Click here for IMPORTANT general course registration information…