Agents asked. We listened. Prior attendees asked us to condense the Course into a 2-day format and replace chapter-end tests with an automated “Exam Prep” system. After two successful trial runs on the condensed 2-day format, we adopted it for the 2016 sessions. And, since we had to update the Study Manual anyway – Thanks TRID Rule! – we replaced chapter-end tests with the Title Insurance Review Exam Prep Component delivered through the Training Portal of our website. An initial 90-day access, from first activation, is included in the price of the Alabama Study Manual for Title Insurance and may be renewed for additional 90-day periods. The online component enables test-takers to study chapter-by-chapter or take unlimited multi-topic exams on computers and all mobile devices.
The Koogler Group is the Course Provider for the 20-Hour Alabama Prelicensing Course for Title Agents, which is taught from the Alabama Study Manual for Title Insurance authored by Karen Koogler. In collaboration with Alabama Land Title Association, The Koogler Group provides several classroom sessions of the Prelicensing Course each year. Please check dates and locations on the Course Calendar. Private, on-site sessions are available to groups of 10 or more attendees, based on instructor availability. To schedule an on-site session of the course, please contact KarenKoogler@KooglerGroup.com.
House Bill 460, enrolled as Alabama Act 2012-397, with an effective date of January 1, 2013, amends Sections 27-25-3 and 27-25-4, Code of Alabama 1975, and adds Sections 27-25-4.1, 27-25-4.2, 27-25-4.3, 27-25-4.4, 27-25-4.5, 27-25-4.6, 27-25-4.7, and 27-25-4.8 to the Code of Alabama 1975, relating to insurance; to provide for the qualifications and procedures for the licensing of title insurance agents by providing definitions and exceptions to the licensing requirements; to require title insurance agents to pass a written examination; to provide exceptions; to require title insurance agents to complete minimum continuing education on a biennial basis; to authorize the Commissioner of Insurance to promulgate rules; and to provide a delayed effective date for certain provisions. More specifically:
The 20-Hour Alabama Prelicensing Course for Title Agents will be conducted over a 2-day period. Certificates of Completion will be mailed to participants the week following course completion.
|Thursday and Friday Sessions|
|7:30 to 7:50||Morning Registration|
|7:50 to 10:00||Morning Session, Part I|
|10:00 to 10:20||AM Break|
|10:20 to 12:00||Morning Session, Part II|
|12:00 to 1:20||Lunch [On Your Own]|
|1:20 to 1:30||Afternoon Sign-In|
|1:30 to 3:40||Afternoon Session Part I|
|3:40 to 4:00||PM Break|
|4:00 to 6:00||Afternoon Session Part II|
Due to the industry slowdown, we will hold several public sessions of the course in 2018. Please consult the Course Calendar for dates and locations. Click here to register online.
Note: Private onsite sessions are also available for groups of 10 or more. Please contact KarenKoogler@KooglerGroup.com for further information and to verify date availability.
In addition to registering for the course, attendees must purchase the Alabama Study Manual for Title Insurance from our Online Store. As noted above, the textbook now includes an online Title Insurance Review “Exam Prep” Component located on the Training Portal of our website. Please register for the course and purchase the manual no later than ten (10) business days prior to course delivery, to ensure seating in the session of your choice and allow time for the textbook to ship.
Participants are required to attend the full 20-Hour Course to receive a Certificate of Completion. Multiple sign-in sheets will be gathered during the course, to ensure full attendance. Please have your driver’s license or other photo ID available for first-day registration [sign-in]. Instructors have the authority and responsibility to deny credit to anyone who disrupts the class or is inattentive. The following student activities during approved class time are prohibited: (1) sleeping; (2) reading of non-course books, newspapers, or other non-course material; (3) using a cellular phone or other electronic device except to take class notes or to complete mathematical exercises; (4) leaving the class other than during authorized breaks. The 20-Hour Course includes two scheduled 20 minute breaks and one-hour lunch period per day. Lunch is on-your-own.